masthead-meetjohn-new_2x.png

認識約翰

donate-bg_2x.png

今天捐贈!

參與建設更美好的未來。為該活動提供 10 美元。

triangle-side-left.png

約翰是來自西非佛得角群島移民的驕傲之子。他是羅克斯伯里和多切斯特的終生居民,今天他仍然與妻子 Tchintcia 和四個年幼的孩子住在一起。

約翰在十四歲時成為社區組織者。他最終成為達德利街鄰里倡議的執行董事,在那裡他領導了以社區為基礎的變革性努力,以建造經濟適用房並保護家庭免於流離失所;創建學校和青年計劃,並以前所未有的方式投資於公共衛生和公共安全。

約翰一生都是波士頓社區的活躍成員。他是一個小企業主,是他教會的活躍成員,也是波士頓學校委員會的前成員。 2014 年,他為波士頓市建立了新的經濟發展內閣,並擔任市長馬蒂·沃爾什 (Marty Walsh) 的政府成員長達七年。

誰是約翰·巴羅斯?

triangle-side.png
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor

約翰改變了市政廳計劃增長和發展的方式,將公平置於經濟議程的中心。他領導努力為女性、有色人種、移民和退伍軍人創造真正的機會。在他擔任經濟發展主管期間,波士頓新增了 14 萬個工作崗位,同時還投資了數百萬美元用於當地居民的就業培訓。約翰在 COVID-19 期間領導了紐約市拯救小企業和支持其員工的工作,以直接贈款和免除費用的形式向當地企業提供了超過 2000 萬美元的資金。

約翰為波士頓取得的進步感到自豪,但他知道我們可以走得更遠,達到更高。他有一個計劃,要帶領波士頓度過 COVID-19 危機,並成為一個比我們以前更強大、更公平的城市。未來四年將是至關重要的。現在是波士頓以緊迫感和勇氣向前邁進的時候了。約翰已準備好迎接這一刻。

證書

這些年來

triangle-up.png

波士頓市-2014年2月
專業經驗-經濟發展主管
由波士頓市市長馬丁·沃爾什(Martin J. Walsh)任命,負責創建和監督波士頓的新經濟發展內閣。制定和協調政策和計劃,以確保更公平,公正的經濟為主要目標,主要集中在四個領域:獲得資本,創造當地財富,獲得良好工作機會以及建設繁榮健康的社區。

triangle-up.png

達德利街鄰里倡議-2013年2月
專業經驗-執行董事
通過收購附近1300個空地中的一半以上,建立了美國最大的城市社區土地信託基金,並將36英畝土地轉換為225套房屋,花園,公園,遊樂場和溫室。在吸引當地家庭,企業和合作夥伴方面取得了超過13年的成功,尤其著重於教育改革,可持續經濟發展和青年發展。

triangle-up.png

波士頓市-2013年3月至今
慈善領導-慈善捐款受託人,主席
對慈善贈款的結構和運作進行了改革,使其更加精簡併有效地用作解決緊急情況的最終來源,包括一次性大筆費用,醫療費用,住房負擔以及波士頓貧困家庭的公用事業費用。幫助避免了數千次搬遷和公用事業關閉。

triangle-up.png

技能人基金會董事會-2010年1月至2013年5月
慈善領導-計劃政策委員會成員
提供專業知識和經驗,以幫助塑造基金會的“好鄰居倡議”(GNI)方法。為了改善底特律兒童的生活和成果,Skillman發起了一項基於GNI的地方性計劃,為六個社區提供了一項為期10年,價值1億美元的承諾,當時該地區有近三分之一的城市年輕人居住。

triangle-up.png

阿斯彭研究所-2000年5月至2006年6月
慈善領導力-社區變革圓桌會議
審查,介紹和評論了有關綜合社區變更工作(CCI)中發現的主題和挑戰的評估,課程和案例研究,包括:社區級變更與系統級變更;全面性與戰略槓桿;社區建設與組織;倡議者和資助者的內外關係緊張;並在過程產品連續體上搜索平衡。

triangle-up.png

塔夫茨大學-2018
教育-公共政策碩士
塔夫茨市城市與環境政策與規劃部公共政策碩士學位是為具有至少七年重要,相關專業經驗並有興趣在城市,社會和公共事務領域擴展公共政策知識的個人而設計的。環境領域。該計劃特別關注塑造當代美國城市公共教育的政策。

triangle-up.png

2000
波士頓社區發展行動,社區服務獎
ABCD社區獎旨在表彰那些為改善鄰里而無私奉獻自己的人。 ABCD對那些鼓舞人心的事蹟有助於建立一個更好的波士頓的社區領導者表示敬意。自願與兒童和老人一起參加社區會議並就重要的鄰里問題提供重要意見的人。受獎人是波士頓社區生活的靈魂和靈魂

donate-bg_2x.png
加入運動

這項運動是社區的努力。有很多方法可以參與到巴羅斯團隊中,從捐贈到志願服務,再到簡單地與您的朋友談論為什麼約翰應該成為波士頓的下一任市長。約翰已準備好迎接這一刻,並希望您也參與其中。

family-barros@2x.png
我們的活動由像您這樣的支持者的貢獻提供支持。

Meet John

Donate Today! 

Take part in the building of a brighter future. Give $10 to the campaign.

Who is John Barros?

John is the proud son of immigrants from the Islands of Cabo Verde in West Africa. He is a lifelong resident of Roxbury and Dorchester, where he still lives today with his wife Tchintcia and his four young children.

John became a community organizer at the age of fourteen. He eventually became Executive Director of the Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative, where he led transformative, community-based efforts to build affordable homes and protect families from displacement; create schools and youth programs, and invest in public health and public safety in a way that had never been done before.

John has been an active member of the Boston community his entire life. He is a small business owner, an active member of his church, and a former member of the Boston School Committee. In 2014, he established the new Economic Development cabinet for the City of Boston, and served as a member of Mayor Marty Walsh’s administration for seven years.

Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor

John changed the way City Hall plans for growth and development, putting equity at the center of the economic agenda. He led efforts to create real opportunities for women, people of color, immigrants, and veterans. During his time as Chief of Economic Development, Boston added 140,000 new jobs, while also investing millions of dollars in job training for local residents. John led the City’s efforts to save small businesses and support their employees during COVID-19, directing more than $20 million to local businesses in the form of direct grants and fees waived. 
 

John is proud of the progress Boston has made, but he knows that we can go further, and reach higher. He has a plan to lead Boston through the COVID-19 crisis, and to become a stronger and more equitable city than we were before. The next four years will be critical. Now is the time for Boston to move forward with urgency and bravery. John is ready to meet this moment.
 

Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor
Barros for Mayor

CREDENTIALS

Over The Years

City of Boston - Feb 2014
Professional Experience - Chief of Economic Development
Appointed by Mayor of the City of Boston, Martin J. Walsh, to create and oversee Boston’s new cabinet for Economic Development. Develop and coordinate policies and programs that ensure a more equitable and just economy with a primary focus on four areas: access to capital, local wealth creation, connecting to good jobs, and building thriving and healthy neighborhoods. Before leaving this position to start his campaign, John led the creation of the All Inclusive Boston tourism campaign.

Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative - Feb 2013
Professional Experience - Executive Director
Established the largest urban community land trust in the country by acquiring over half of the 1,300 vacant lots in the neighborhood and converted 36 acres into 225 homes, gardens, parks, playgrounds and a Greenhouse. Over 13 years of success in engaging local families, businesses and partnering with a particular focus on education reform, sustainable economic development and youth development.

City of Boston - March 2013 to Present
Philanthropic Leadership - Trustees of Charitable Donations, Chair
Reformed the structure and operations for charitable grants to be more streamlined and efficiently used as a final source for addressing emergency situations including one-time large expenses, health bills, housing burdens, and utility costs for poor families in Boston. Helped to avoid thousands of evictions and utility shut-offs.

The Skillman Foundation Board of Trustees - January 2010 to May 2013
Philanthropic Leadership - Program Policy Committee Member
Provided expertise and experience to help shape the Foundation’s approach to its Good Neighborhoods Initiative (GNI). With a commitment to improving the lives and outcomes of the children in Detroit, Skillman launched the GNI place-based initiative with a 10-year, $100 million commitment to six neighborhoods where nearly one-third of the city’s young people lived at the time.

The Aspen Institute - May 2000 to June 2006
Philanthropic Leadership - The Roundtable on Community Change
Reviewed, presented and commented on the evaluations, lessons and case study regarding themes and challenges found in comprehensive community change work (CCI) including: Neighborhood-Level Change vs Systems-Level Change; Comprehensiveness vs Strategic Leverage; Community Building vs Organizing; Tensions in Inside-Outside Relationship of Initiative and Funder; and Searching for Balance on the Process-Product Continuum.

Tufts University - 2018
Education - Masters in Public Policy 
The Master of Public Policy degree in the Department of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning Department at Tufts is designed for individuals with at least seven years of significant, relevant professional experience who are interested in expanding their knowledge of public policy within urban, social, and environmental domains. The Program allows a specific focus on the policies that shape Public Education in contemporary urban America.

2000
Action for Boston Community Development, Community Services Award
ABCD Community Awards honor those who give so unselfishly of themselves for the betterment of their neighborhoods. ABCD honors those community leaders whose inspirational deeds help to build a better Boston. People who volunteer with children and older people, who attend community meetings and provide critical input on important neighborhood issues. Honorees are the heart and soul of life in Boston’s neighborhoods

Join the Movement

This campaign is a community effort. There are many ways to get involved with Team Barros, from donating to volunteering to simply talking with your friends about why John should be Boston’s next Mayor. John is ready to meet this moment and wants you to be a part of this moment, too.

family-barros@2x.png
Our campaign is powered by contributions from supporters like you.